Christmas With Kiddies – A Better Late Than Never Post

Standard
IMG_8220

I put these little elves to work!

I was told no less than 4,723 times that this was going to be just the Best Christmas Ever because we have our kids with us now. While I did enjoy the season because I had extra people to share it with, I wouldn’t say it was the best in my life just because they were here. I mean, I’m not so old that I don’t remember my awe at getting a Barbie Dream Kitchen (that still lives in my garage) myself. Or our first Christmas in this house where we were moving on Christmas Eve so we just had a tiny tree, a couch, and Christmas spirit.

IMG_8322

Oh Santa, you are just so cute!

It’s a lot of pressure to be Santa! Its a lot of pressure to buy for three kids with such different taste and it all still seem fair. Agent K is teetering that line between wanting Minion jammies and Nerf guns vs. wanting a phone and a car. He was a great sport and we are very grateful to him for playing along this year for his sisters. They haven’t had Santa previously and do you want to know how mad a mom can get? Have her 8-year-old tell her that the foster parents said ‘Santa is dumb and if a man tries to come down our chimney, I’m going to shoot him right back up with this here gun’. Wow, really making some great decisions there. Anyway, we tried our best and I think both girls believed for this year. I don’t know how long it will work but when I told them that anyone who doesn’t believe obviously wouldn’t get gifts from him, it seemed to put the doubts to rest.

IMG_8276

They wrote Santa letters, left him cookies, the whole thing and thats all I wanted. Just one year of child-like dreams at Christmas. We did Reindeer on the Roof (which I suggest above that stupid elf) and drove around looking at lights in our jammies. It really was magical and I’m very glad about every effort we put into it to make it as special as possible for them. They deserve everything happy they get and what kid couldn’t use a little spoiling now and again?

IMG_8321

I loved the two-week break we got off work the most. Husbando and I celebrated our 4 year anniversary by going to the Armed Forces Bowl and we got to spend lots of time with Nephy-Niece and our other family. The kids love their extended family so much, we haven’t stopped talking about them since we got back almost a month ago. Every day they ask about someone and when we can see them next. That does my heart a lot of good to know they are forming deeper bonds every time they see them. So basically Christmas WAS wonderful and we had a great time. The kids got too many gifts to count, we ate more wonderful and delicious food than we should have and we shared more fun than I can explain in writing. Can’t wait to do it all over again next year : )

 

 

Leave a Reply

