What They Don’t Tell You

Standard

WARNING: THIS IS MORE OF A VENT THAN A REAL POST

My realtor, who is also a high school friend, really pushed us to venture out of the area we thought we wanted and go south to get into a better school district. We fell in love with our house the moment we saw it so that helped. When people asked where it was and about the schools we beamed with pride. Our kids were going to be geniusesWe were so happy that our kids wouldn’t go to the Crappy Public Schools but instead, would get top rate education in the Really Nice District and obviously go on to be presidents of Fortune 500 companies.

Fast forward a month and you will get zero glowing recommendations about this Really Nice District from us. The enrollment process was a pure nightmare, their teachers have been just ok, Agent K’s assistant principal and I about came to a shouting match on the phone, and I’m on my way to email the Assistant Superintendent after I write this blog. Parent/Teacher conferences were last night and we also met with the girls’ principal. She has been spending too much time with single-digit-aged kids because I left the room feeling like she didn’t even know HOW to talk to adults. I get that you need to relate to them but please don’t treat me like I AM one of them.

It was a long, hard night of feeling like no one was listening to us. No one cared what my kids have been through, no one cares what parents want for their kids, and no one is ‘special’ there. Everyone has to be treated like they all have the same past, present, and future. Thanks a lot Really Nice District Lovers for hyping me up for quality education when all I’m getting is gray hairs. Oh, and a gasoline bill that is a gazillion times what it would have been if I bought a house where I wanted : /

P.S. WHO STILL HAS A REDSKIN AS A MASCOT?! GET WITH THE TIMES!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

