I Can’t Even Come Up With A Title

Standard

I’ve been trying to come up with a clever title for this post for at least ten minutes and it is just not coming to me. I want to tell you why… Yesterday around 3pm I was talking to my boss when my phone rang. I didn’t recognize the number but the area code is where all my family lives AND is the area code to where all the adoption workers/kids/therapist are so I decided to answer. Best decision I’ve made this week!

It was the girls’ therapist asking if she could ask me a few questions. Of course I said yes but then found out she was having a session with the girls at that moment and it was actually them I would be speaking with. Not only that but they wanted to FaceTime so they could see me. I was frantically looking for a quiet (and private) place to hide myself and a co-worker very kindly agreed to let me use her office. What I originally asked was for five minutes but that turned into around 32.

IMG_6343

So begins me not showing their faces :/

When I saw them I got all warm and fuzzy. When I saw me I immediately wished I had worn better eyeshadow and thrown on some earrings. Luckily they didn’t seem to mind. They rapid-fire questioned me about everything under the sun and the ones I can remember off the top of my head are:

  • Do you have a horse? 
  • Do you have a dog?
  • Can we get a dog?
  • What is your favorite color?
  • What is your job?
  • Where is Jeremy?
  • Can we get a dog?
  • Can I see your office?
  • Will we be able to call our ‘Grandma’? (thats what they call their foster mom)
  • What will Christmas be like?
  • Will we get SO many presents?!
  • What color is your car?
  • Can you bring the red car Tuesday so we can check out the seats?
  • Do you have a boat?
  • Can we go fishing?
  • Can we get a dog?
  • What grade will we be in?
  • What time will we have to wake up?
  • Can we go to church?
  • Can we go to church camp?
  • Is your hair green?
  • Can OUR hair be green?
  • Can we get a dog?
  • Where are we gonna sleep?
  • DO WE REALLY HAVE BUNK BEDS?!
  • When will we see you again?
  • Where is lunch on Tuesday? (Answer: McDonalds)
  • Can we get a HAPPY MEAL?!
  • CAN WE GET A MCFLURRRRRYYYY?!

Aren’t some of these hilarious? I love what is at the top of their list for potential parents. You know, not ‘will we be clothed and fed’ but more about fishing and dogs. It really proves to me they aren’t worried about the basic needs but more about the day-to-day. I’m so glad they were excited and it wasn’t the least bit awkward. It could have been a lot of the therapist asking and them sitting nervously but that woman couldn’t get a word in at all!

I also got to see/meet ‘Grandma’ but she didn’t say much. In fact I didn’t hear her say anything. I’m sure this is hard for her so I’m choosing to not take it personally. It would be the second hardest part of foster parenting. The number one would be when they go back to a bad situation that you know is going to be bad again.

It was the most wonderful thing that has happened to me in a very long time. I haven’t stopped talking or thinking about it since it happened. I haven’t been able to sleep and my only regret is that Husbando was at training across campus (normally would be just feet away) when it happened. They asked for him a dozen times and I know he is sad he missed it but he assures me he is glad I got to experience it for us both. We have now officially entered the IS THIS REAL LIFE?! portion of adoption, folks. Hold on for the ride!

 

One response »

  1. That is so awesome!!! So excited for you!!!! My friend’s adorable “new” daughters came over last month after being with their mom and dad for two days and their 10 year old told me, “you know what my favorite part about my mom is??? She is allergic to raisins! That is my favorite part about her!” So cute!!! Turns out said daughter doesn’t like raisins and now knows with mama being allergic she won’t have to eat them! Ha ha! My favorite thing she said all day! So sweet!

Leave a Reply

