Adoption Party Episode 2

Standard

Another day, another Adoption Party.

Today we ventured to the magic land of Oklahoma City. More specifically, we traveled to the ghetto armpit of Oklahoma City known as the ‘Northside’. I felt like I was going to get shot at Sonic but I made Husbando stop before we hit the turnpike because mama needed a cherry limeade after the day we had!!  We actually had a GREAT time at the party. We got there right on time, signed in, got our book, picked out some good profiles and waited for the kids to arrive. It felt a little less meat market-y this time and for that I was very glad. Our worker AND her supervisor were on us like white on rice. We were introduced to at least 5 different supervisors of our supervisor and several different workers as if we were royalty and everyone had to meet us. We chatted our hearts out, took in all the different decorations and activities, walked around and watched kids have a great time. Everyone made sure we knew what was going on, made sure we knew food was being served, where to go, just all kinds of attention! Thank you Mary Fallin, I appreciate your help : )

So one group of three kiddos (boy and two girls) had a great profile and luckily they were there. We watched at a distance for a while then when they could finally all be pulled from the bouncy castles, we were introduced and got to sit down to have lunch with them. For fear of too much sharing, I’ll just say they were very adorable and articulate kids who were all old enough that I wouldn’t have to change diapers!! BONUS! They were pretty rowdy but who wouldn’t be if they were hyped up on cupcakes and inflatables? We both got to have a little alone time with them to talk about what we like to do and we got to all sit and eat hotdogs together. It really was a nice time and exactly what I wanted to happen all along.

We got to see one other group from afar (everyone wants three little people under 6 apparently) and we liked what we saw so we wrote them down as a potential interest too. During a down time we got bored and read the single child profiles. Since we want siblings, we usually skip right to the back of the book where they always are. We were skimming and then my jaw hit the table… I re-read the profile, looked at the pic, re-read the profile, stared hard at the pic while I made Husbando read the profile then we just looked at each other and grinned for a solid 10 beats. He says ‘you’ve got to be kidding me…’ and I say ‘I know…’ and he says ‘this is not the plan’ and I say ‘I know’ and he says ‘are you ok with this’ and I say ‘I think so’. This girl and us are SO alike. We have the same hobbies and music style (and how many people like Christian rap?!) and she seems, at least on paper, that she is a perfect piece of our puzzle. Only issue? She is very close to aging out of the system. We need to ask fast!

I call our worker over and ask if this young lady is at the party. She told me to go check the table and see if she is checked in. I do it and she has not. So I go back and ask our worker what would happen if we found this one girl and another group and liked both. She said you usually aren’t allowed to pursue more than one group at a time and its usually a year from move-in that you can start the process over if you want more kiddos. That def puts a wrench in our plan. So we decide to only write down the two sibling groups on our sheet (mostly b/c we got to see and interact with them) and then think and pray about what to do with Miss Single Rider.

At Sonic, we are quiet. On the turnpike, someone finally breaks the silence and we get excited for the Cher concert in a few hours. We kinda push Single Rider to the back of our minds. Or at least we try. I caught myself thinking about her at least 5 times during the biggest concert of. my. life. Tomorrow I head to Norman for a funeral and will be home Monday evening. Hopefully we start getting news in the next couple weeks about these kiddos so we can keep moving forward. Yea for progress and communication!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

