Happy Turkey Day!

Standard

snoopy-woodstock-thanksgiving-dinner

This is where I wish you all the joys of the holiday and we bond over gluttony but thats not really my thing. Don’t get me wrong, I will bond with you over a plate of wontons at the Chinese Star Buffet but I don’t like typical Thanksgiving dinner (and I’m on countdown until we host and Indian Tacos are the menu). I usually eat mashed potatoes, corn, and deviled eggs, not exactly a meal to be especially thankful for. To further my family’s belief that I am an alien, I do not like pecans either and since they use them as a food group, several desserts are out. Thank goodness cheesecake is nut-free! Also, on the positive side, if I lose all my teeth, my Turkey Day* menu will not have to change! Bonus!

DSCN4588

“I’ll take one No Chew Platter please.”

But seriously, I hope you have a fun time with family or friends or whatever you want to do. Watch football, work to earn money, spend it alone with a carton of ice cream, shop local, shop giant national chains like myself, do whatever you want that makes you feel like it is as special of a day as anyone else is getting to have. What is more extravagant than an day spent exactly how you want it? Nothing! So you just do you.

We have had some changes in family, venue, menu, ok, like everything this year and hopefully my hormones can handle it. Luckily, the light at the end of the tunnel is that Thursday night we shop and Friday, we feast Carynnspiration-style. At Husbando’s family gathering we are having steak and twice-baked potatoes. I almost cried when I heard. Maybe I really was adopted but I hope not from this family because ew, gross. That would make Husbando my brother. It may explain why we all fight like brothers and sisters but still… ew.

Now this is what I'm talking about!

Now this is what I’m talking about!

Further, I can now stop hearing everyone whining and complaining about my Christmas decorations being up or my holiday music playing. Thanksgiving is used by most as the official kickoff to Christmas so I can stop secretly wrapping gifts and bring out the holiday hair accessories! I hate seeing eye rolls when I admit that I am officially done with my Christmas shopping (you heard me right, I’m done). I have everything wrapped and under the tree or at least ordered and on its way. As usual, we spent at most half of what others do by stockpiling during the year. I AM NOT ASHAMED! 

I love Christmas and celebrating such a wonderful event. Jesus was born and my life (and the world) will never be the same. I love that the weather is cold and I get to snuggle up to my  husband. I love having parties with people I don’t see often. I love seeing someone’s face when they open the gift I’ve picked out and had to wait six months to watch them open. Christmas is just a wonderful time and before I get too far down the Cheesy Trail, I’ll just say… Happy Thanksgiving and BRING ON CHRISTMAS!

Christmas-Snoopy-Lights-Tree

It is also one of the Teenager’s birthday. Happy Birthday Jantzen!

* Just for you Laura ; )

Leave a Reply

