Second Verse… Same as the First

Standard

Please enjoy this oldie but goodie. Tomorrow is the day we try the Statewide Staffing thing again. We didn’t get any hits on the first round (or we did and weren’t told) so we just keep trying. I’m going to try to pretend that my attitude is optimistic and patient. Some people wait months and years to get the family that is right for them so why am I so antsy? Well I’m guessing one reason is that I got a glimpse into my future life this weekend by playing with a couple of my favorite teenagers.

And I loved every single minute of it.

Numbers Three and Four came for a slumber party Friday night and we had pizza, watched a movie and stayed up late working in the kitchen. I was trying to find something for us to do that wouldn’t cost anything but let us spend time together so my genius self put those sous chefs to work! Few months ago I bought a stand up freezer for the garage in anticipation of needing the space/meals in the near future. I had been wanting to plug the thing in and fill ‘er up so the night before the teenagers arrived I went to Wal*Mart and bought enough stuff to make several freezer meals. Twenty-one freezer meals to be exact! These are mostly test runs but we had such a ball in the kitchen, it won’t really matter if the meals suck. We chopped, dice, talked about #4’s girlfriend, browned hamburger meat, schemed against mean girls at #3’s school, had a lesson on peeling carrots, drank a lot of root beer, cruised Pinterest, made fancy Florida hand scrub, and filled that freezer up! I can’t think of a better four hours I’ve had recently. 

The next day we went for a driving lesson, garage sale shopped, walked through a craft fair and then away they went into the sunset with their mom. I am not under the impression that life with teenagers is always this rosey and I know these kiddos are extra well-behaved when they are with us. However, I’ll take all the negative to get these positives. I think thats pretty much the reason everyone has kids, right?!

Leave a Reply

