Out On The Limb

Standard

I’m going out on a limb today so I like to preface a blog like this with a blanket statement protecting everyone:

These views in no way reflect that of anyone else, especially Husbando. 

There, housekeeping done.

Now I need you to look at this on BuzzFeed because I can’t figure out how to put it all in this blog. Or if I’m even allowed to. It’s hilarious, right? I just love George Takei. Put him up there with Ellen (click to see her awesomeness). Anyway, I think his reactions are perfect. From the eyebrow raises to the giant grins, George makes me giggle. More than that, I agree with them both that they should be able to love who they want. Why would anyone stop them?

Those twelve year olds talking about procreation are sending me mixed (and misspelled) messages. Are you saying that no one should marry a person that can’t or won’t have children? I mean, if you’re basing the reason for marriage on being able to have a gaggle of kiddos, how do you feel about my adoption even though we think we can have kids? Do you really think that we would be hurting the human race by letting someone get married? I hate to break it to you but they aren’t going to start having babies just because you won’t let them sign a marriage license to another man! Plus, I think the Duggars are making up for at least half the families without children so calm down. We are not going extinct.

Further, sorry McCain but you’re being ridiculous.  Ellen should have all the rights that come with marriage but she doesn’t get the actual privilege?  She can have the ceremony, the dress (or pant-suit), the cake, and the bridesmaids but instead of signing a marriage license she signs an insurance contract? Wow, you think we’re as dumb as you look. WHAT DO YOU CARE?! Let people be as happy as they can be without hurting anyone. Ever heard the saying ‘Whats good for the goose is good for the gander’? You can’t base your beliefs on religion and then not practice your part. Each person has their own sin and if you feel like someone loving their partner is one, you shouldn’t stop them. You should stop yourself. Go ahead and stop all your sins before you try to stop what you think is sin in another person. Oh, where have I heard that before? Oh yeah, Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone… (John 8:7). Thats a quote by Jesus. You know, JESUS. Listen to Him. 

So there it is. Right out there for everyone to see. This has been sitting in my ‘Drafts’ box for months and with all the news this week, I thought I’d let ‘er rip. I’ll step down off this soapbox for now but I’m sure we’ll be revisiting this topic in the future.

Leave a Reply

