Best Friends Forever. Like for REAL.

Standard

tumblr_ll5se8O0B81qb4bfao1_400I moved to Kansas the summer before third grade. It was my fourth new school in four years so I was pretty pro at being the ‘new kid’ by then. But no matter how much I had the whole ‘Just-Sit-At-The-Lunch-Table-And-Pretend-You-Belong’ thing down, it always sucks to start over with new friends. Especially when this particular school had third graders that would drill the new girl with first day questions like ‘Have you ever done it?’ and ‘Who are you gonna french kiss on Valentines Day?’ What kind of hell was that?! I didn’t even know what it was! Also, HOW DID THEY?

So I had a pretty horrible first day (or year) but I met the girl who would become my Best Friend Forever. She was a pale, dark-haired girl who could relate to me being a little chunky. We bonded over that and our mutual hatred for gym class testing. In fourth grade we were given different teachers but at least had reading together. By fifth grade we separated completely and only got to see each other at recess (by then we were down to one) and the three days they shoved all us girls in a room to talk tampons. Then we fast forward to sixth grade. Back in the day you didn’t find out what teacher you had until the lists got posted in the windows of the school about a month before classes started. And only your parents cared what teacher you were assigned. We just wanted to know what kids we would spend all year passing notes to. So when we went to check, I was excited to be in class with her and didn’t even notice we had a teacher no one had ever heard of. But who cared because WE WERE GOING TO BE IN CLASS TOGETHER! Then we started school and realized this new teacher was officially the Teacher From Hell. Our friendship grew stronger and stronger with every crazy day we spent around that woman. And we are bonded for life over that. P.S. She is rumored to have been fired soon after that year.tumblr_mnir7g4Lkc1qgggt8o1_500

It didn’t matter that in seventh and eighth grade we didn’t have ONE class together. It didn’t matter that we lived on opposite sides of town. It didn’t matter that she was always busy doing homework and I was out riding my bike with the boys. We were best friends. It didn’t even matter that we had waited so long to be locker buddies our freshman year and I moved out of state the day before that dream could have been reality. True story. We moved four hours away the day before I started high school. But this time, instead of just being the new kid (again), I could go home and call her and we could talk for hours about how horrible everything was. She would fill me in on the same ol’ crazies we grew up with and I would tell her about all the new crazies I’d found in my small town.

She came to visit me and I went to visit her. We spent her sixteenth birthday together at the DMV getting her license and thats when I knew we would never really be separated. I will always be able to get to her and she will always be able to get to me. We were the Maids of Honor at the other’s weddings, We’ve been through puberty, first kisses, bad haircuts, graduations, weddings, babies, moves, deaths, and a very long list of stupid STUPID ideas. We may not spend every weekend having a slumber party anymore but we do share the other’s achievements, losses, successes and pain because we are more family than any family I was born with. I didn’t set out to make this post so sappy but when I get to talking about the person who has been there for me the longest, I get all sentimental. And I hope each and every one of you gets to have a BFF like mine at least some time in your life. One that sticks with it and makes the effort to continually make you feel better when they are around.

So happy birthday to my BFF. I know no card or meme can accurately depict our relationship but enjoy anyway ; )

C-

IMG_1584

Their recent visit was during a storm so all their family kept calling. And calling. And calling. Apparently they don’t have twisters in Kansas…?

Also: Dear BFFF, I can’t wait to write something like this about you in about 15 years. Only will we have blogs when we live on Saturn and drive hover-cars? ; )

One response »

  1. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo | A Little Carynn-spiration

Leave a Reply

